How Do You Get A Gold Glove In Baseball?

A Gold Glove is the award given to the best defensive player at each position in Major League Baseball.


A Gold Glove is an award given to the best defensive player at each position in Major League Baseball (MLB). It is considered one of the most prestigious awards in baseball.

Players are nominated for the award by managers and coaches who have seen them play. A panel of experts then votes to decide who the winner is.

There are nine Gold Glove awards given out each year, one for each position: first baseman, second baseman, third baseman, shortstop, left fielder, center fielder, right fielder, pitcher, and catcher.

The criteria for winning a Gold Glove are not entirely clear, but it is generally agreed that it takes more than just being a good defender. Factors such as a player’s reputation and his ability to influence games can also play a role in the voting process.

There have been some controversial decisions made over the years, but the award is still highly coveted by players.

What is a Gold Glove?

The Gold Glove is awarded to the best fielding player at each position in Major League Baseball (MLB), as determined by a vote of the managers and coaches in each league. It is an annual award, first presented in 1957.

The award was created by baseball executive Jay Chubb, who wanted to recognize the best fielders in the game. The inaugural winner of the Gold Glove was New York Yankees third baseman Tommy Byrne.

Today, a panel of Major League Baseball writers and broadcasters votes on the winners of the Gold Glove awards. Each manager and up to six coaches from each MLB team can vote for any player at any position, regardless of league affiliation.

Players who win the Gold Glove are typically considered to be among the best fielders in baseball. Many players who have won the award have gone on to successful careers in baseball, including Hall of Famers like Brooks Robinson, Ozzie Smith, and Ivan Rodriguez.

How is the winner of the Gold Glove chosen?

The Gold Glove is awarded to the best defensive player at each position in baseball, as voted on by major league managers and coaches.

To be eligible for the award, a player must have played in at least 130 games at his position during the regular season. Players are not allowed to vote for themselves.

The nominees for each position are announced in late October, and the winner is revealed at a Gold Glove Award ceremony in November.

What are the benefits of winning a Gold Glove?

There are several benefits that come with winning a Gold Glove. The most obvious is the prestige that comes with being recognized as the best defensive player at your position in all of Major League Baseball. Not only is it a great individual honor, but it can also help raise your profile and increase your value on the open market when you become a free agent. In addition, winning a Gold Glove can also lead to some nice financial rewards. Each year, Rawlings, the company that produces the Gold Glove Awards, gives each winner a gold-plated trophy and a $100,000 bonus.

How do you become a contender for the Gold Glove?

You don’t have to be the best player on your team to be considered for the Gold Glove. In fact, you don’t even have to be the best player at your position. All that matters is that you’re among the league leaders in a single, all-encompassing metric: Defensive Runs Saved.

DRS attempts to quantify how many runs a defender saves or costs his team with his glove work alone. It includes elements like Good Fielding Plays (GFP), which are essentially web gems, and Defensive Misplays & Errors (DME), which… well, you get the idea.

To be considered for the Gold Glove, a player must appear in at least two-thirds of his team’s games at his position and have enough innings played there to qualify for Major League Baseball’s version of the fielding percentage title (2.8 times as many innings as games played at that position).

From there, each team nominates one player at each position. A panel of coaches and executives from around baseball then votes on the best defensive player at each position in both leagues.


There is no one definitive answer to this question. It depends on a number of factors, including the player’s position, defensive statistics, and the voters’ individual preferences.

Similar Posts