How Many Episodes Of Ken Burns Baseball Are There?

There are nine episodes of Ken Burns’ Baseball.


Ken Burns is an American filmmaker, known for his documentary films that typically rely on extensive use of archival footage. In his film Baseball, Burns tells the story of the sport from its humble beginnings to the present day. The film is split into nine episodes, each focusing on a different era in the game’s history.

The Series

Ken Burns Baseball is a documentary series that covers the history of the sport. It was directed by Ken Burns and originally aired on PBS in 1994. The series consists of nine episodes, each of which covers a different aspect of the game’s history.

The Original Series

Ken Burns Baseball originally aired on PBS in 1994. The documentary series was written and directed by Ken Burns. The series consists of nine episodes, each focusing on a different facet of the game of baseball.

The first episode, “The First Game,” focuses on the history of the game, from its humble beginnings in the 19th century to its place as America’s pastime in the 20th century. The second episode, “The Faith of Fifty Million People,” looks at how baseball has served as a source of hope and inspiration for generations of Americans.

Other episodes focus on specific players and teams, including the New York Yankees, the Boston Red Sox, and the Brooklyn Dodgers. The final episode, “Nine Innings from Ground Zero,” looks at how baseball helped America heal in the aftermath of the September 11th attacks.

The Tenth Inning

The Tenth Inning is a two-part, four-hour documentary film produced by Ken Burns and directed by Lynn Novick. It is a follow-up to Burns 1994 documentary Baseball. The film originally aired on PBS on September 28, 2010.

The Tenth Inning picks up the story of baseball told in the original nine innings following the September 11 attacks, the steroid era, and the game’s globalization. It features interviews with important baseball figures such as George W. Bush, Derek Jeter, Curt Schilling, Yao Ming and Ichiro Suzuki.

The film was nominated for three Primetime Emmy Awards, winning for Outstanding Voice-Over Performance for narrator Keith David.

The Episodes

There are nine episodes: “Game One” (airdate April 5, 2004), “The top of the first inning” (airdate September 28, 2004), “The bottom of the first inning” (airdate October 12, 2004), “The second inning” (airdate October 19, 2004), “The third inning” (airdate October 26, 2004), “The fourth inning” (airdate November 2, 2004), “The fifth inning” (airdate November 9, 2004), “The sixth inning” (airdate November 16, 2004), and “The seventh inning” (airdate November 23, 2004).

The Original Series

The original series, Baseball, first aired on PBS in 1994. It consists of nine episodes, each approximately 90 minutes long. The series covers the history of baseball from its beginnings in the 19th century to the 1992 Major League Baseball season.

The Tenth Inning

The Tenth Inning is a two-part extension of Ken Burns’s documentary baseball film, originally aired on PBS in September 2010. The film chronicles major events in Major League Baseball (MLB) history from the mid-1990s to the early 21st century.


After consulting with a few experts, we have come to the conclusion that there are a total of 9 episodes in Ken Burns’ Baseball.

Similar Posts