How Many Owners Are In The NFL Hall of Fame?

How many owners are in the NFL Hall of Fame? This is a question that many fans have asked over the years. Here is a list of all the owners who have been enshrined in Canton.

How Many Owners Are In The NFL Hall of Fame?


professional American football league in the United States, consists of 32 teams. As of 2020, there are a total of 33 men who have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame as owners. These 33 men represent 29 different franchises.

Owners in the NFL Hall of Fame

As of September 2020, there are 27 owners in the NFL Hall of Fame. This includes both individuals and teams. The most recent owner to be inducted in 2020 was Edward DeBartolo Jr., former owner of the San Francisco 49ers.

George Halas

George Stanley Halas Sr. (/ˈhɑːləs/; February 2, 1895 – October 31, 1983), nicknamed “Papa Bear” and “Mr. Everything”, was a player, coach, and owner involved with professional American football. He was the founder and owner of the National Football League’s Chicago Bears franchise, serving as their head coach from 1920 to 1929, 1930 to 1932, and 1933 to 1955. He is credited with inventing the T-formation and the blitz defense.[1][2][3] Halas was one of the co-founders of the National Football League in 1920, served as its president from 1921 to 1929, and led NFL teams to nine league championships (six with the Bears).

In 1963 he was inducted into both the Pro Football Hall of Fame (Class of 1963) for his contributions as a player and coach, and the College Football Hall of Fame (Class of 1951) for his achievements at Northwestern University as a player. In 1974 he became only the second person ever inducted into both Halls of Fame in Canton, Ohio (Bert Bell being first). Halas was selected in 1969 as an inaugural member of six charter members inducted that year into the Professional Football Researchers Association Hall Of Very Good in Canton.[4]

He died on October 31, 1983 at age 88 in Chicago.

Art Rooney

Art Rooney was the founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, one of the most popular and successful franchises in the National Football League. He was born in Ireland and immigrated to the United States as a child. He began his career as a semipro football player and then became interested in owning a team. In 1933, he founded the Pittsburgh Pirates, which would later become the Steelers.

Rooney was a visionary owner who helped shape the NFL into what it is today. He was instrumental in creating revenue sharing among owners, which ensured that all teams could be competitive. He also advocated for parity between large and small markets, which has helped make the NFL one of the most popular sports leagues in the world.

Rooney was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1964, becoming only the second owner to be so honored (the first was George Halas). His induction speech was delivered by his son, Dan Rooney, who would go on to become one of the most influential owners in NFL history himself.

Wellington Mara

Born in 1916, Mara was the son of Timothy J. Mara, who founded the Giants in 1925. Wellington Mara played football at Fordham University and began working for the Giants in 1934. He became vice president in 1941 and president in 1959. He is credited with helping to save the NFL during a power struggle with the rival American Football League in the early 1960s. Mara oversaw the Giants’ move from Yankee Stadium to New Jersey’s Meadowlands Sports Complex in 1984. He died in 2005.

Lamar Hunt

Lamar Hunt was an American sportsman who is best known for being the founder of the Kansas City Chiefs football club and the American Football League. He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1972, and the Chiefs retired his jersey number in his honor.


There are a total of 32 NFL owners in the Hall of Fame.

Similar Posts