How Many Teams Have Won An NBA Championship?

How Many Teams Have Won An NBA Championship?
The answer might surprise you.

How Many Teams Have Won An NBA Championship?


In order to win an NBA Championship, a team must first make it to the NBA Finals. The NBA Finals is a best-of-seven series played between the two conference champions. The team with the better regular season record earns home-court advantage in the series. The first team to win four games in the series is crowned the NBA champion.

The National Basketball Association (NBA) was founded in 1946, and the first championship was won by the Philadelphia Warriors in 1947. Since then, a total of 30 teams have won at least one NBA championship. Of those 30 teams, only 8 have won more than 3 championships. The most successful franchise in NBA history is the Boston Celtics, who have won a total of 17 championships.

List of teams that have won an NBA Championship

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the pre-eminent men’s professional basketball league in North America, and is widely considered to be the premier men’s professional basketball league in the world. It has 30 teams, and is a member of USA Basketball. The NBA is one of the four major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada. NBA players are the world’s best paid athletes by average annual salary per player.

Boston Celtics

The Boston Celtics have won the most NBA championships with 17, as of 2020. The next closest teams are the Los Angeles Lakers and San Antonio Spurs, who have both won 10 NBA championships.

Los Angeles Lakers

The Lakers have won a total of 16 NBA Championships, the second-most in NBA history. The franchise has also appeared in 31 NBA Finals, the second-most by any team in NBA history.The Lakers first winning season came in 1948, when they recorded a 47–11 win–loss record. Ten years later, the Lakers compiled a then-record 33-game win streak en route to their first ever championship, defeating the dynastic Minneapolis Lakers in six games. Led by Hall of Famers Elgin Baylor and Jerry West, Los Angeles made the Finals four more times in the 1960s, losing each time to the Boston Celtics.

Golden State Warriors

Golden State Warriors
The Golden State Warriors are a professional basketball team based in Oakland, California. They are members of the Western Conference Pacific Division of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Warriors were founded in 1946 as the Philadelphia Warriors based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, a founding member of the Basketball Association of America (BAA).[9] In 1962, the franchise relocated to the San Francisco Bay Area and was renamed the San Francisco Warriors. In 1971, the team changed its geographic moniker to Golden State, California’s state nickname. Since 1972, the team’s home court has been located in Oakland’s Oracle Arena. The Warriors have reached eight NBA Finals in their history, winning four NBA championships in 1947 (barred from defending their title by teammates who joined new teams in an abortive attempt to break up the league), 1956, 1975, 2015 and 2017.


Since the NBA was founded in 1947, there have been 69 teams that have won at least one NBA Championship. Of those 69 teams, 30 have won multiple championships. The team with the most championships is the Boston Celtics, who have won 17 times.

Similar Posts