What Baseball Teams Are In The National League?

The National League of Professional Baseball Clubs, or simply the National League (NL), is the older of the two leagues that make up Major League Baseball (MLB) in the United States and Canada. Founded on February 2, 1876, to replace the National Association of Base Ball Players (NABBP), the NL is sometimes called the “Senior Circuit”.

What Baseball Teams Are In The National League?

Atlanta Braves

The Atlanta Braves are a professional baseball team based in Atlanta, Georgia. They are members of the National League East division in Major League Baseball (MLB). The team played its home games at Turner Field from 1997 to 2016, and began playing its home games at SunTrust Park in 2017.

Miami Marlins

The Miami Marlins are a professional baseball team based in Miami, Florida. They compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) East division. Their home park is Marlins Park. Though one of only two MLB franchises to have never won a division title, the Marlins have won two World Series championships as a wild card team.

New York Mets

The New York Mets are a professional baseball team based in the borough of Queens in New York City. They compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) East division.

Philadelphia Phillies

The Philadelphia Phillies are a professional baseball team based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Phillies compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) East division. Since 2004, the team’s home has been Citizens Bank Park, located in South Philadelphia.

The Phillies have won two World Series championships (against the Kansas City Royals in 1980 and the Tampa Bay Rays in 2008), seven National League pennants (1915, 1950, 1980, 1983, 1993, 2008, and 2009), and 13 Division Series appearances (1976, 1977,1978,1980,1983,1993,1995 2001, 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012). It is one of the only two remaining charter members of the National League that has never changed cities since its inception (the other is the Atlanta Braves).

Washington Nationals

The Washington Nationals are a professional baseball team based in Washington, D.C. The Nationals compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the National League (NL) East division. From 2005 to 2007, the team played in RFK Stadium, and since 2008 their home stadium has been Nationals Park. The Nationals are the Major League Baseball franchise for the nation’s capital, following the relocation of the Montreal Expos in 2005. The Expos were created as an expansion franchise in 1969, and shared Joint Municipal Stadium with the American Football League’s Miami Dolphins until moving to Olympic Stadium full-time in 1977.

The team began play as the Expos in Montreal for the 1969 season, managed by Hall of Famer Dick Williams. Starting in 1977, led by star outfielder Gary Carter and future Hall of Famer manager Felipe Alou, they won five NL East Division titles over a seven-year span. Despite strong fan support, including playoff appearances three out of four years from 1981 to 1984 (the ” There is no place like home” banner incident occurred during game five of the 1981 Division Series), they failed to make any significant postseason success; their lone playoff victory occurred during game five of their 1981 NLDS encounter against the Philadelphia Phillies at Olympic Stadium (a game which featured one of baseball’s most famous home runs, by future Hall Of Famer Mike Schmidt). In 1991–93 Major League Baseball considered returning National League baseball to Washington D.C., but ultimately decided that Baltimore – just 40 miles south on I-95 – would make a more viable partner for an existing franchise relocation or expansion franchise than would Washington itself at that time due to renovations needed at what was then RFK Stadium and lack of available land suitable to build a new stadium on near downtown DC.

In 2002 MLB approved the ownership group led by Jeffrey Loria for relocation of the then-Florida Marlins franchise to Washington for that season after Loria failed to secure public funding for a new ballpark in South Florida despite effort led by then-owner John Henry; however MLB nullified that relocation approval after Henry reached an eleventh-hour deal with South Florida authorities for construction of what is now Marlins Park resulting in Henry’s purchase and Loria’s sale of controlling interests in what became the Miami Marlins following that season.. An ownership group including former Atlanta Braves president Stan Kasten and financier Fred Malek was approved by MLB owners on May 15, 2006, during which time numerous ownership groups had unsuccessfully sought approval over four years for purchases or relocations including ones involving Major League Soccer’s D.C. United franchise which had also considered moving into RFK Stadium if approved; Kasten subsequently resigned from his Braves position mere days after his Nats approval was finalized amid widespread rumors he would become President/CEO/majority owner Mark Lerner’s top lieutenant with control over all baseball operations despite Lerner having publicly stated he would not relinquish operational control once his purchase was approved.. The Lerner family became majority owners upon approval with Malek assuming a minority stake; both families have retained those same roles through present day although Mark Lerner has stated his sons have taken on larger roles within team management over recent years including DC native Ted Lerner becoming primary face of ownership..
Davey Johnson became manager prior start of 2012 season after successful midseason 2011 managerial stint following firing of previous manager Jim Riggleman who controversially quit immediately following dramatic come-from-behind victory resulting from Stephen Strasburg pitching seven innings while working no hitter bid against Pittsburgh Pirates.. Johnson led Nats to Bryce Harper major league debut April 28–29, 2012 (harper hit two homers game one), best record in majors through end may 2012 despite several key injuries suffered early season including loss starting pitchers Jordan Zimmermann & Drew Storen & key reserve outfielder Jayson Werth.. Johnson abruptly retired October 3 due only weeks remaining before expiration his contract..
First base coach Davey Lopes replaced Johnson on an interim basis for remainder regular season & entire postseason en route to first ever playoff berth & series win franchise history which culminated defeating St. Louis Cardinals 3 games 2 NLDS best(5) series.. Matt Williams replaced Lopes offseason becoming only third African American manager joining Dusty Baker & Cito Gaston who managed Nats/Expos organization previously (as Expos manager Williams also became first rookie MLB manager reach playoffs since Ralph Houk Yankees 1961 World Series championship campaign)

Similar Posts