What NFL Team Has Never Been to the Super Bowl?

Find out which NFL team has never been to the Super Bowl.

What NFL Team Has Never Been to the Super Bowl?

The Cleveland Browns

The Browns have never been to the Super Bowl, but they’ve come close. They’ve played in the AFC Championship game four times, most recently in 1989. They lost that game to the Denver Broncos, who went on to win the Super Bowl.

The Detroit Lions

The Detroit Lions are one of only two NFL teams to have never played in a Super Bowl (the other being the Cleveland Browns). The Lions have won four NFL championships (in 1935, 1952, 1953 and 1957), but all before the Super Bowl era.

The Houston Texans

The Houston Texans are a professional American football team based in Houston, Texas. The Texans compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the American Football Conference (AFC) South division. The team plays its home games at NRG Stadium.

The Texans were established in 2002, joining the NFL as an expansion team that same year. The team’s majority owner is Bob McNair; Bill O’Brien is the head coach. The Texans have registered two winning seasons in franchise history, both coming under former head coach Gary Kubiak in 2011 and 2012. As of the end of the 2017 season, they have an all-time regular season record of 87–75 (.537), tied with the Tennessee Titans for first in that category among AFC South teams and third among current AFC teams (the Baltimore Ravens and Kansas City Chiefs have played one more game than Houston). The Texans have won only one playoff game in franchise history, which came during their 2012 season, when they defeated the Cincinnati Bengals 31–10 in the Wild Card round to advance to the Divisional Round, where they lost to eventual Super Bowl XLVII champion Baltimore Ravens 20–13. In their nine seasons under Kubiak’s leadership from 2006 to 2013, they qualified for the playoffs four times (including three consecutive appearances from 2011 to 2013), won two AFC South division titles (2011 and 2012), and qualified once for an AFC Championship Game (2012).

Similar Posts