When Are the NHL Awards?

The National Hockey League awards are given out annually to recognize the best players, teams, and performances in the league. Here’s everything you need to know about the NHL Awards.


The National Hockey League (NHL) Awards are held annually to recognize the league’s top performers from the previous season. The awards are handed out in various categories, such as best player, best defenseman, and best goalie.

This year’s NHL Awards will be held on June 19, 2019, at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. The event will be hosted by actor Joe Manganiello.

Award nominees are typically announced a few weeks prior to the event. This year’s nominees have not yet been announced. However, last year’s winners included Taylor Hall of the New Jersey Devils ( Hart Trophy for most valuable player), Pekka Rinne of the Nashville Predators ( Vezina Trophy for best goaltender), and Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning ( Norris Trophy for best defenseman).

The NHL Awards are open to the public and tickets can be purchased through Ticketmaster.

NHL Awards

The National Hockey League Awards are presented annually to recognize individual and team achievements in the National Hockey League. The Awards were first handed out at the end of the 1947-48 NHL season.

Hart Memorial Trophy

The Hart Memorial Trophy, originally known as the Hart Trophy, is awarded annually to the “player judged most valuable to his team.” The winner is selected by a professional poll of members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association.
First presented in 1960, it is named in honour of Canadian Dr. David Hart, father of former Montreal Canadiens and New York Rangers player Max Pacioretty.

Vezina Trophy

The National Hockey League awards the Vezina Trophy each year “to the goalkeeper who is adjudged to be the best at this position”. It is named in honor of Georges Vezina, goaltender of the Montreal Canadiens from 1910 until 1925, who died in 1926 of tuberculosis. The trophy was first awarded at the end of the 1926–27 NHL season and was awarded to Georges Vézina’s former teammate, Cecil Hart. The trophy is currently considered to be one of the most important awards for individual players in the National Hockey League.

To be eligible for the Vezina Trophy, a goaltender must have played a minimum of 25 games for his team during the regular season. Each year, prior to the presentation of this award, nominations are submitted by all NHL general managers who vote for three goaltenders who they believe are worthy of being finalists for this award. The finalist goaltenders are then selected by a poll among all NHL players and announced at the annual NHL Awards show.

James Norris Memorial Trophy

The James Norris Memorial Trophy (often referred to as simply the Norris Trophy) is an annual award given to the defensemen who is considered to have demonstrated throughout the regular season the greatest all-round ability in the position. It is named after James E. Norris, the longtime owner of the Detroit Red Wings. The James Norris Memorial Trophy has been awarded 62 times to 26 players since its beginnings in 1953–54.

First presented in 1953–54, it was named in honor of James E. Norris, winner of seven Stanley Cups as owner of the Detroit Red Wings, and donated by his daughters Marguerite andmable Norris. At the time of his death, he was also a member of the NHL Board of Governors. The trophy was first awarded at the conclusion of the 1953–54 NHL season and has been presented every year since then.


NHL Awards are given out annually to recognize the top players, coaches, general managers and executives in the National Hockey League. Awards are also given to honor the top prospects in the game, as well as the top achievements in team history. The NHL Awards show is typically held in late June, after the Stanley Cup Final has wrapped up.

Similar Posts