When Does Baseball Season Start in 2017?

It’s that time of year again! Baseball season is just around the corner, and we can’t wait to cheer on our favorite teams. So when does baseball season start in 2017?

2017 Baseball Season

The 2017 Baseball season is just around the corner. The pre-season starts in February, and the regular season starts in April. Get your tickets now and root for your favourite team!

When does the 2017 baseball season start?

The 2017 Major League Baseball season will begin on Sunday, April 2, 2017
This will be the first time in MLB history that every team will play on Opening Day. The game times for Opening Sunday have not been released yet, but all 30 teams will be in action. The defending World Series champion Chicago Cubs will open at home against the St. Louis Cardinals, while the Los Angeles Dodgers will host the San Diego Padres.

Who are the teams in the 2017 baseball season?

The 2017 Major League Baseball season will begin on Sunday, April 2 and is scheduled to end on October 1. The playoffs will then take place from October 3-13, with the World Series beginning on October 24.

As of now, there are 30 teams in Major League Baseball: 29 from the United States and 1 from Canada. These teams are split into two leagues- the National League and the American League. Each league is then further split into three divisions: East, West, and Central. There are 15 teams in the National League and 15 teams in the American League.

In total, there are 10 teams in the American League East division, 8 teams in the American League Central division, and 12 teams in the American League West division. In the National League, there are 9 teams in the NL East division, 8 teams in the NL Central division, and 8 teams in the NL West division. The 2017 baseball season promises to be an exciting one!


Spring training for the 2017 season starts in February, with the first exhibition games beginning in early March. The regular season starts a little later than usual this year, on April 2nd, 2017.

What is the pre-season?

Baseball’s pre-season is a month-long warmup before the regular season. Its length and dates vary from year to year, depending on the start of the regular season. The pre-season typically begins in early February, with some games taking place in late January if weather permits.

During the pre-season, teams play a number of exhibition games against each other and sometimes against non-major league teams. These games do not count towards the regular season standings. However, they can be important for players trying to make a major league roster, as they provide an opportunity to show their skills in game situations.

The pre-season culminates with Opening Day, when the first game of the regular season is played.

How long is the pre-season?

The Major League Baseball (MLB) regular season runs from April to October, with each team playing 162 games. However, the journey to the World Series starts long before the first pitch is thrown in April.

Pre-season training starts in February, when pitchers and catchers report to their team’s spring training facility for workouts. A week later, the rest of the team joins them and exhibition games begin. These “spring training” games are played against other MLB teams and give managers a chance to see how their players are performing and make adjustments to their lineup before the regular season starts.

Spring training usually lasts about six weeks, but it can be shorter or longer depending on a team’s schedule. For example, teams that played in the World Series last year don’t start their pre-season until later because they need more time to recover from their grueling playoff runs.

The 2017 MLB pre-season began on February 14th and will end on April 2nd, just in time for Opening Day on April 3rd.

When do the pre-season games start?

Although baseball is considered a summer sport, the pre-season begins in February with the Spring Training. The location of the Spring Training rotates every year between the 15 teams of the American League (AL) and the 15 teams of the National League (NL). The pre-season exhibition games start in late February and go until early April.


The 2016 Major League Baseball (MLB) season ended on November 2, with the Chicago Cubs winning the World Series. After a long, grueling season of 162 games, the postseason is a welcome respite for players and fans alike. The postseason begins on October 3 and will end on October 31 with the World Series.

What is the post-season?

In Major League Baseball, the post-season is when the top teams in each league compete against each other in order to make it to the World Series. The American League playoffs consist of the three divisional winners and a wild card team, while the National League playoffs have the two divisional winners and two wild card teams.

The post-season begins in October, after the regular season has ended. The first round of playoffs is known as the Wild Card Game, which is a one-game playoff between the two wild card teams. The winner of that game advances to play one of the divisional winners in a best-of-five series called the Division Series.

The two winners of the Division Series then advance to face each other in a best-of-seven series called the Championship Series. Lastly, the winner of the Championship Series from each league advance to play each other in baseball’s biggest event: The World Series!

How long is the post-season?

The post-season stretches from late September into early November, and is a best-of-seven format for all rounds. The AL Champions and NL Champions play each other in the best-of-seven American League Championship Series (ALCS), with the winner of that series advancing to play the winner of the best-of-seven National League Championship Series (NLCS) in the best-of-seven World Series.

When do the post-season games start?

The post-season starts the day after the final game of the World Series.

Similar Posts