Where Are All The NFL Teams From?

A quick reference guide to where all 32 NFL teams are from.


The National Football League is a professional American football league consisting of 32 teams, divided equally between the National Football Conference and the American Football Conference. The NFL is one of the four major professional sports leagues in North America, and the highest professional level of American football in the world.

NFL teams are spread out across the United States, with teams located in all 50 states. However, most NFL teams are concentrated in the northeastern and midwestern United States. There are a few exceptions, such as the Dallas Cowboys (located in Texas), the Arizona Cardinals (located in Arizona), and the San Francisco 49ers (located in California).

Here is a list of all 32 NFL teams, broken down by conference and division:

AFC East

The AFC East is made up of the New England Patriots, the Buffalo Bills, the Miami Dolphins, and the New York Jets.

The Patriots are based in Foxborough, Massachusetts, and play their home games at Gillette Stadium. The team has won six Super Bowls, the most recent in 2017.

The Bills are based in Orchard Park, New York, and play their home games at New Era Field. They have yet to win a Super Bowl.

The Dolphins are based in Miami Gardens, Florida and play their home games at Hard Rock Stadium. They have won two Super Bowls, the most recent in 1974.

The Jets are based in East Rutherford, New Jersey and play their home games at MetLife Stadium. They have yet to win a Super Bowl.

AFC North

The AFC North is a division of the National Football League’s American Football Conference. It was formed prior to the 1970 NFL season when the league realigned divisions following the 1969 season. Four teams currently compete in the division: the Baltimore Ravens, Cincinnati Bengals, Cleveland Browns, and Pittsburgh Steelers.

Since the AFC North’s inception, its teams have captured 15 percent of NFL Championships (5 of 32), and 25 percent of Super Bowls (5 of 20). The AFC North has sent at least four teams to the playoffs in eight of its fifteen seasons. In nine of those seasons, it has sent five teams to compete for a Lombardi Trophy.

The current AFC North Champion is the Baltimore Ravens who have won it six times (2003, 2006, 2011, 2012, 2018, 2019). The Pittsburgh Steelers have captured the most titles with nine (1972, 1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1995, 1996, 2005, 2008).

AFC South

The AFC South is a division of the NFL’s American Football Conference. The division consists of four teams: the Houston Texans, the Indianapolis Colts, the Jacksonville Jaguars, and the Tennessee Titans. All four teams are based in the Southern United States.

AFC West

In the AFC West, we have the Kansas City Chiefs, the Los Angeles Chargers, the Las Vegas Raiders, and the Denver Broncos.

The Kansas City Chiefs are based in Kansas City, Missouri. They were originally founded in 1960 as the Dallas Texans, before moving to Kansas City in 1963. The Chiefs have won 3 Super Bowl titles, most recently in 2020.

The Los Angeles Chargers are based in Carson, California. They were originally founded in 1959 as the Los Angeles Chargers, before eventually moving to San Diego in 1961. The team then returned to Los Angeles in 2017. The Chargers have yet to win a Super Bowl title.

The Las Vegas Raiders are based in Paradise, Nevada. They were originally founded in 1960 as the Oakland Raiders, before moving to Los Angeles in 1982 and eventually returning to Oakland in 1995. The team then moved to Las Vegas in 2020. The Raiders have won 3 Super Bowl titles, most recently in 1983.

The Denver Broncos are based in Denver, Colorado. They were originally founded in 1960 as a charter member of the American Football League (AFL). The Broncos have won 3 Super Bowl titles, most recently in 1998.

NFC East

The NFC East is a division of the National Football League’s National Football Conference. It currently has four members: the Dallas Cowboys, the New York Giants, the Philadelphia Eagles, and the Washington Redskins. It was created in 1967 as the National Football League’s Eastern Conference – Metropolitan Division, and its name was changed to its current form in 1970.

NFC North

NFC North
-Chicago Bears (Chicago, Illinois)
-Detroit Lions (Detroit, Michigan)
-Green Bay Packers (Green Bay, Wisconsin)
-Minnesota Vikings (Minneapolis, Minnesota)

NFC South

The NFC South is home to some of the most iconic NFL teams, including the New Orleans Saints, Carolina Panthers, and Tampa Bay Buccaneers. But where are all the NFC South teams from?

The Saints are based in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Panthers play in Charlotte, North Carolina. And the Buccaneers hail from Tampa, Florida.

So there you have it! The next time you’re wondering where an NFC South team is from, just remember: Louisiana, North Carolina, and Florida.

NFC West

The NFC West is a division of the National Football Conference (NFC) in the National Football League (NFL). It currently consists of four teams: the Arizona Cardinals, the Los Angeles Rams, the San Francisco 49ers, and the Seattle Seahawks. Each team plays two games against each of the other teams in its own division and one game against each team in both of the other divisions in their conference, for a total of 16 games.

The NFC West was formed in 1967 as the National Football League’s 16th division. It originally consisted of the Chicago Bears, Detroit Lions, Green Bay Packers, and Minnesota Vikings. In 1970, prior to the AFL-NFL merger, the NFL absorbed two more teams from what is now the American Football Conference’s West division: the expansion New Orleans Saints and San Francisco 49ers. As a result of this realignment, Chicago moved to what is now NFC North.

The NFC West has sent at least one team to each Super Bowl since 1981; however, only one team from this division has won a Super Bowl title since then: The Seattle Seahawks won Super Bowl XLVIII after defeating the Denver Broncos 43-8.

Similar Posts