Who Are The Top 10 Rebounders In Nba History?

We all know that rebounding is a key part of success in basketball. But who are the best rebounders in NBA history?

In this blog post, we’ll take a look at the top 10 rebounders in NBA history, based on their career rebounding averages.

So if you’re interested in finding out who the best rebounders in NBA history are, read on!

Wilt Chamberlain

Wilt Chamberlain is widely considered one of the greatest players in NBA history. He is also one of the greatest rebounders in NBA history, finishing his career with 23,924 rebounds. Chamberlain also holds the single-game rebounding record, grabbing 55 rebounds in a game against the Boston Celtics in 1960.

Bill Russell

Bill Russell is considered one of the best basketball players in history. He played center for the Boston Celtics from 1956 to 1969. During that time, the Celtics won 11 NBA championships. Russell was the leader of the team’s defense and helped make the Celtics one of the most successful teams in NBA history. He was also a great rebounder, averaging more than 20 rebounds per game for his career.

Bob Pettit

Bob Pettit is widely regarded as one of the best rebounders in NBA history. He played for the Milwaukee/St. Louis Hawks for 11 seasons, and was a member of the team that won the NBA championship in 1958. During his time with the Hawks, Pettit averaged 16.2 rebounds per game.

Pettit was a 6’9″ power forward who was known for his physical strength and boxing out ability. He was an excellent offensive rebounder, and was also adept at grabbing loose balls. Pettit’s rebounding prowess helped him become one of the first players to average more than 20 points and 20 rebounds per game in a season.

After retiring from the NBA, Pettit continued to be active in basketball, serving as president of the NBA Players Association and as a member of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame board of directors.

Jerry Lucas

Jerry Lucas is an American former professional basketball player and memory education expert. He was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Lucas’s tenacious rebounding and outstanding shooting led him to be one of the most successful players in his era, and he continues to rank highly in many statistical categories. He remains the only player in NCAA history to average more than 20 points and 20 rebounds per game.

Lucas was born in Middletown, Ohio, then a community of 30,000+/- halfway between Dayton and Cincinnati. Middletown then called itself “The Basketball Capital of the World”, due to the many top players that had graduated from its Middletown High School

Elvin Hayes

Elvin Ernest Hayes, nicknamed “The Big E”, is an American retired professional basketball player who played for the Houston Mavericks and Baltimore/Washington Bullets. He is a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team, and an inductee into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Hayes was born to sharecroppers in Rayville in Winn Parish, Louisiana. He was one of eight children. As a high school senior in Rayville, he led his team to the state semifinals. Although recruited by several colleges to play basketball, he chose to play at the University of Houston because it did not have an race policy at that time. He joined a freshman team that included future Hall of Famer Clyde Drexler. When their head coach had suffered there were two assistant coaches who took over which were John Eubanks and Guy V. Lewis again former head coach of the men’s basketball team. Together they led the Cougars to a 27–2 record overall 11–0 in Southwestern Conference play winning the conference title for the first time ever in school history., advancing to the Final Four for the first time as well. They finished third overall defeating 1960 Olympic gold medalists and defending NCAA champions Ohio State 82–81 in double overtime; Hayes scored 39 points and had 15 rebounds in this game which became known as “The Game of The Century”.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar is the NBA’s all-time leading rebounder. He is also the league’s all-time leading scorer. Abdul-Jabbar played for 20 seasons, winning six NBA championships with the Milwaukee Bucks and the Los Angeles Lakers. He was a 19-time All-Star and was named the NBA’s Most Valuable Player six times.

Other top rebounders in NBA history include Bill Russell, Wilt Chamberlain, Moses Malone, Hakeem Olajuwon, Shaquille O’Neal, and Dwight Howard.

Moses Malone

Moses Malone is widely regarded as one of the best rebounders in NBA history. He played center for 21 seasons in the NBA and was a 12-time All-Star. Malone led the league in rebounding six times, including five consecutive seasons from 1981 to 1986. He was also named the NBA MVP three times.

Malone’s career average of 12.2 rebounds per game is the sixth highest in NBA history. He finished his career with more than 16,000 rebounds, which ranks fourth all-time. Malone was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2001.

Dennis Rodman

Dennis Rodman is one of the greatest rebounders in NBA history. He was a key player on some of the best teams of all time, including the Chicago Bulls and the Detroit Pistons. Rodman was known for his tenacious defense and his ability to grab rebounds in traffic. He is one of only two players in NBA history to average at least 15 rebounds per game for his career, and he is the only player to win back-to-back rebounding titles in three different decades. Rodman was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 2011.

Ben Wallace

Ben Wallace is a former American professional basketball player. He played 16 seasons in the National Basketball Association (NBA). A five-time NBA All-Star, he won the NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award four times, a record he shares with Dikembe Mutombo. He also led the league in rebounds per game twice and blocks per game three times.

Hakeem Olajuwon

Standing at 7’0”, “The Dream” was a two-time NBA champion, two-time Finals MVP, and one-time league MVP. In his 18-year career, Olajuwon averaged 21.8 points, 11.1 rebounds, 3.1 blocks, and 1.7 steals per game. He is the only player in NBA history to be named to the All-Star team, All-Defensive team, and All-NBA team in each of his first 12 seasons. Olajuwon is also the only player in history to record more than 2,000 blocks and 200 steals in a career. He ranks ninth all-time in rebounds per game and second all-time in blocks per game.

Similar Posts