Who Has the Most NBA Finals MVPs?

We take a look at the players who have won the most NBA Finals MVPs in history.

Michael Jordan- 6

Michael Jordan is one of the most decorated basketball players of all time. He has six NBA Finals MVPs, which is the most of any player in history. Jordan was also named regular season MVP five times and defensive player of the year once. He was a 10-time All-NBA first team selection and a nine-time NBA All-Star.

Magic Johnson- 3

Earvin “Magic” Johnson Jr. (born August 14, 1959) is an American retired professional basketball player and current president of basketball operations of the Los Angeles Lakers of the National Basketball Association (NBA). He played point guard for the Lakers for 13 seasons. After winning championships in high school and college, Johnson was selected first overall in the 1979 NBA draft by the Lakers. He won a championship and an NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award in his rookie season, and won four more championships with the Lakers during the 1980s. Johnson retired abruptly in 1991 after announcing that he had contracted HIV, but returned to play 32 games for the Lakers during the 1995–96 season. He became a two-time inductee into the Basketball Hall of Fame—being enshrined in 2002 for his individual career, and again in 2010 as a member of the “Dream Team”, in addition to being voted one of the 50 Greatest Players in NBA History in 1996.

Johnson’s professional career began when he was drafted with the first overall pick in 1979 by his hometown Los Angeles Lakers. He won a championship ring in his rookie year alongside Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and James Worthy, although his actual contribution was minimal; he played limited minutes off the bench behind Norm Nixon. The following year, Johnson saw more playing time and averaged 12.6 points per game as Los Angeles finished first in their division with 54 wins. In the 1981 NBA Finals, which were against Julius Erving’s Philadelphia 76ers, Abdul-Jabbar suffered an ankle injury which caused him to miss games 3 through 5; Johnson stepped into his role as starting center and averaged 18 points per game as Los Angeles won the series 4–2. With Abdul-Jabbar out for much of this series due to injury, many questioned if this young Laker team could win without their star center; however, coach Paul Westhead decided to push on with small ball by startingJohnson at center instead of bringing Abdul-Jabbar back into the lineup too early; this decision would prove to be correct as they went on to win their first NBA Finals together. In Game 6, Johnson made a baby hook shot over 76ers’ forward Bobby Jones with 2 seconds left on the clock to give Los Angeles a 107–102 victory and their first ever championship. The shot would becomeamongthe most famous clutch playsin NBA historyand cemented Johnson’s reputation as one ofthe greatest playersof all time.

After winning their first championship together, Abdul-Jabbar and Johnson continued to dominate opponents throughout 1981–82 en route to a 62–20 regular season record; Abdul-Jabbar won MVP for a record sixth time whileJohnson finished second behind himin voting. Inthe postseason,the teamstumbledearlyonbylosinggameonetothePhoenix Suns but then proceededto win11straightgames en route to theirsecond consecutivechampionship.In th e1982NBA Finals they werematched upagainsttheDr J-led Sixersagainandthis timewenton tomuch more easilywinthe seriesthis timein 6 games giving themback-to-backchampionshipsand giving Magic hissecondFinals MVP awardin two years

LeBron James- 3

LeBron James has the most NBA Finals MVPs with 3. He was awarded the MVP in 2012, 2013, and 2016.

Shaquille O’Neal- 3

Shaquille Rashaun O’Neal is an American former professional basketball player. He is widely considered one of the greatest players in NBA history. He is one of only three players to win NBA MVP, All-Star game MVP and Finals MVP awards in the same year.

O’Neal played for six teams throughout his 19-year career. Following his time at Louisiana State University, he was drafted by the Orlando Magic with the first overall pick in the 1992 NBA draft. He quickly became one of the best centers in the league, winning Rookie of the Year in 1992–93 and leading his team to the 1995 NBA Finals. After four years with the Magic, O’Neal signed as a free agent with the Los Angeles Lakers. He won three consecutive championships from 2000 to 2002 while earning Finals MVP honors each year. Amid tension between O’Neal and Kobe Bryant, O’Neal was traded to the Miami Heat in 2004, his fourth NBA championship followed in 2006. Midway through the 2007–2008 season he was traded to the Phoenix Suns. After a season-and-a-half with Phoenix, O’Neal was traded back to Cleveland in 2009. He played for Shaq’s final two seasons before retiring in 2011 as a Laker; he finished his career as one of only three players with over 28,000 points and 15,000 rebounds during their careers (the other two being Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Wilt Chamberlain).

Tim Duncan- 2

Tim Duncan, who played his entire 19-year career with the San Antonio Spurs, is a two-time NBA Finals MVP. He was named MVP of the 1999 NBA Finals, in which the Spurs defeated the New York Knicks in five games, and again in 2003, when they swept the New Jersey Nets.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar- 2

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has the most NBA Finals MVPs with 2. He won in 1971 as a member of the Milwaukee Bucks and in 1985 as a member of the Los Angeles Lakers.

Kobe Bryant- 2

Kobe Bryant of the Los Angeles Lakers has the most NBA Finals MVP awards with 2.

Bob Pettit- 2

Bob Pettit is a two-time NBA Finals MVP, winning the award in 1958 and 1959. He is one of only four players to win multiple Finals MVPs, along with Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, and Shaquille O’Neal.

Willis Reed- 1

Willis Reed played for the New York Knicks from1964 to 1974. He is a six-time NBA All-Star and was the NBA All-Star Game MVP in 1970. He was the NBA Rookie of the Year in 1964-65 and was named to the NBA All-Rookie First Team. Reed was a member of the New York Knicks teams that won the NBA Finals in 1970 and 1973. He was named the NBA Finals MVP in 1970 after averaged 21 points and 13 rebounds per game in the series.

Bill Russell- 1

Bill Russell is an American retired professional basketball player who played center for the Boston Celtics of the National Basketball Association (NBA) from 1956 to 1969. A five-time NBA Most Valuable Player and a twelve-time All-Star, he was the centerpiece of the Celtics dynasty that won eleven NBA championships during his thirteen-year career. Russell and Henri Richard of the Montreal Canadiens are tied for the record of the most championship wins by an athlete in a North American sports league.

Similar Posts