Who Is The WWE Women’s Champion Right Now?

Right now, the WWE Women’s Champion is Bayley. She’s been holding the title since August 2020, when she defeated Sasha Banks at SummerSlam.

The WWE Women’s Championship

The WWE Women’s Championship is a professional wrestling world championship created by the American promotion WWE. It is currently one of WWE’s two female world titles, along with the NXT Women’s Championship, which is exclusive to the NXT brand. The title is defended on all three of WWE’s main rosters, Raw, SmackDown, and NXT.

History of the WWE Women’s Championship

The WWE Women’s Championship is a professional wrestling championship in WWE. It is one of the two top championships for women in WWE, complementing the WWE Raw Women’s Championship on SmackDown. The current champion is Asuka, who is in her first reign. She defeated Charlotte Flair at WrestleMania 34 on April 8, 2018, to become champion.

The title was established as the WWF Women’s Championship on September 18, 1956, with the unification of the WWWF World Heavyweight Championship and the NWA World Heavyweight Championship. The inaugural champion was Joy Hamilton. The title was generally contested in matches where falls counted anywhere, though stipulations to that effect existed at times. As it was affiliated with the NWA, it was also referred to as the “NWA/WWF Women’s World Championship”. In 1993, the WWF stripped then-champion Lexie Fyfe of the title and deactivated it after then-WWF President Jack Tunney declared that Fyfe had failed to defend the title against a challenger within 30 days; WWF reactivated and renamed it as simply “the WWF Women’s Championship” soon afterwards. The promotion would eventually be renamed as World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) in 2002; after which its women’s division and championship would also be renamed to its current form shortly afterwards.

As usual with professional wrestling championships, holders were declared by promoters of shows rather than winning them via competitive tournaments. However,Fabulous Moolah became recognized as holding by fans after appearing in an advertisement for L&M cigarettes which described her unequivocally as “the undisputed champion of Womens Pro Wrestling”. Tournament winners include Wendi Richter (1984), Rockin’ Robin (1988), Alundra Blayze (1993) and Bull Nakano (1994).

Another tournament took place at True Champions found Fabulous Moolah defeating Betty Boucher on June 3rd 1979 to become champion again. Over its history there have been a total of 48 individual champions who have had a combined 59 official reigns. There are 10 vacancies as current champions cannot defend their titles due to pregnancy leave or injury

The current WWE Women’s Champion

The current WWE Women’s Champion is Sasha Banks. She won the title on August 24, 2020, at SummerSlam.

The Women’s Evolution in WWE

The Women’s Evolution in WWE has been a topic of discussion for years now. There has been a lot of progress made since the days of “Divas” and there are now more opportunities for women in WWE than ever before. The WWE Women’s Championship is a big part of that progress and it is currently held by Becky Lynch.

The Women’s Revolution

The Women’s Evolution in WWE has been years in the making, and it all came to a head in 2015 when WWE crested the so-called “Divas Revolution.” This was a storyline wherein WWE sought to re-establish its women’s division as being on par with the men’s, with more athletic and serious matches, and more prominent storylines.

Since then, the women of WWE have made incredible strides, including main eventing shows like WrestleMania and Summerslam, and even having their own all-women’s PPV event, Evolution. The women’s division is now widely considered to be one of the best parts of WWE programming, thanks in large part to the amazing athletes who make up its roster.

And right now, the WWE Women’s Champion is none other than Becky Lynch!

The Women’s Evolution

The Women’s Evolution is a term used by WWE to describe the company’s focus on women’s wrestling. The “evolution” began at the first-ever all-Women’s PPV event, WWE Evolution, in October 2018.

Since then, WWE has been working hard to provide more opportunities for women within the company. This has included the creation of a Women’s Tag Team Championship, as well as increasing the amount of screen time given to women on WWE programming.

The Women’s Evolution has been praised by many within the wrestling industry, as well as fans of WWE. It has led to some of the most talented female wrestlers in the world being given a platform to showcase their skills on a global stage.

The Future of WWE Women’s Wrestling

Over the past few years, WWE’s Women’s Division has undergone a renaissance of sorts. With the addition of several new and talented wrestlers, the Women’s Division has never been better. And with the recent addition of the Women’s Tag Team Championships, it is clear that WWE is investing in its female performers. But who is the WWE Women’s Champion right now?

The Mae Young Classic

In August of 2017, the first ever Mae Young Classic took place. This was a 32-woman tournament that was named in honor of the late, great Mae Young. The Mae Young Classic featured some of the best female wrestlers from all over the world, and it was won by Japanese star Kairi Sane.

Since then, WWE has been on a roll with their women’s division. They created an all-women’s pay-per-view called Evolution, which was a huge success. They’ve also elevated the Women’s Tag Team Championships and created a second women’s singles title, the NXT UK Women’s Championship.

The future of WWE women’s wrestling is very bright. There are so many talented women on the roster, and with more opportunities being created for them, there’s no telling what they will accomplish in the years to come.

The Evolution of Women’s Wrestling in WWE

The Women’s Division in WWE has come a long way since the days of Bra and Panties matches and “Divas” who were nothing more than eye candy.

In recent years, WWE has changed their approach to women’s wrestling, choosing to focus on the athletes and their in-ring ability, rather than their looks. This has led to the rise of incredibly talented women wrestlers such as Charlotte Flair, Sasha Banks, Becky Lynch, and many others.

The Women’s Division is now seen as one of the most exciting and respected divisions in all of professional wrestling, with matches that can rival anything that the men are doing.

And while there is still some way to go before WWE truly achieves equality between the men’s and women’s divisions, it is clear that they are moving in the right direction. Only time will tell what the future holds for WWE Women’s Wrestling, but one thing is for sure: it is evolving…and it is here to stay.

Similar Posts