Who’s Playing Baseball Today?

Wondering who’s playing baseball today? Check out our daily MLB schedule to see what teams are playing.


The game of baseball has been around for centuries and is enjoyed by people of all ages around the world. Every year, Major League Baseball (MLB) teams compete against each other in a race to win the World Series. But before they can even think about the World Series, they have to make it through the regular season.

The regular season consists of 162 games, which are played over the course of six months from April to October. During the regular season, each team plays every other team in its league a total of 19 times. In addition, teams also play interleague games against teams from the other league.

So if you’re wondering who’s playing baseball today, there’s a good chance that there are several games happening all around the country!

American League

The American League (AL) is one of two leagues that make up Major League Baseball (MLB) in the United States and Canada. Founded in 1901 as the Western League, a minor league, the AL eventually became one of the three major leagues that now make up MLB, along with the National League (NL) and the now-defunct Federal League. Like its NL counterpart, the AL originally consisted of eight teams, but it has since grown and now consists of 14 teams—nine in the United States and five in Canada.

AL teams are divided into two divisions: the East Division and the West Division. The winner of each divisional playoff series (the best-of-five game series between the two division winners) advances to the best-of-seven AL Championship Series. The winner of that series then advances to play in the World Series against either the NL champion or a team from another professional baseball league.

As of 2019, all but one AL team (the Tampa Bay Rays) have won at least one World Series title:

Boston Red Sox (9): 1903, 1912, 1915, 1916, 1918, 2004, 2007, 2013, 2018
New York Yankees (27): 1923, 1927, 1928, 1932, 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939, 1941 ,1943 ,1947 ,1949 ,1950 ,1951 , 1952 , 1953 1955 , 1956 , 1958 , 1961 , 1962 , 1977 , 1978 1996 1998 1999
Detroit Tigers (4): 1935 1945 1968 1984
Los Angeles Angels / California Angels / Anaheim Angels (1): 2002
Minnesota Twins / Washington Senators (3): 1924 1987 1991
Chicago White Sox(3) : 1906 1917 2005 Oakland Athletics / Kansas City Athletics (9): 1910 1911 1913 1929 1930 1931 1934 1972 1973 1974

National League

-Arizona Diamondbacks
-Atlanta Braves
-Chicago Cubs
-Cincinnati Reds
-Colorado Rockies
-Los Angeles Dodgers
-Miami Marlins
-Milwaukee Brewers
-New York Mets
-Philadelphia Phillies
-Pittsburgh Pirates
-San Diego Padres
-San Francisco Giants
-St. Louis Cardinals
-Washington Nationals


There are a lot of great games on today, so be sure to check out the schedule and find one that you don’t want to miss!

Similar Posts