Who Won Last Year’s NBA Championship?

The Golden State Warriors won the 2017 NBA Championship.

The Golden State Warriors

The Regular Season

The Warriors entered the season as the defending NBA champions, having won the title in 2015. They won a franchise record 73 games in the regular season, surpassed the 1995–96 Chicago Bulls’ 72–10 record. The Warriors broke the record with a 111–77 victory over the Memphis Grizzlies on April 13, 2016. With their win against the San Antonio Spurs on April 10, 2016, the Warriors improved to 69–9, giving them the best 30-game start in NBA history. They also became just the fifth team in NBA history to win at least 70 games in consecutive seasons.

The Playoffs

The playoffs are a best-of-seven elimination tournament held after the conclusion of the NBA’s regular season to determine the league’s champion for that season. Eight teams from each of the league’s two conferences qualify for the playoffs. These seedings are used to create a bracket in which teams play each other in single-elimination games until only one team remains, that team being crowned NBA champion.

The Finals

The Finals are the NBA’s championship series, pitting the Eastern Conference against the Western Conference. The Warriors won last year’s championship, defeating the Cleveland Cavaliers in five games.

The Cleveland Cavaliers

The Cleveland Cavaliers are an American professional basketball team based in Cleveland, Ohio. The Cavaliers compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Eastern Conference Central Division. The team began play in the 1970–71 NBA season.

The Regular Season

The Cleveland Cavaliers had a regular season record of 57-25, which was the second best record in the Eastern Conference. They were seeded second in the conference playoffs. The Cavaliers made it to the NBA Finals, where they faced the Golden State Warriors. The Warriors had the best record in the league and were coming off a championship win the previous year. The Cavaliers won the series in seven games, becoming the first team in NBA history to come back from a 3-1 deficit in the Finals.

The Playoffs

The Cleveland Cavaliers made it to the NBA Finals for the fourth straight year, but they were unable to win the title, losing to the Golden State Warriors in four games.

The Cavaliers got off to a hot start in the playoffs, winning their first 12 games. They swept the Indiana Pacers in the first round and then beat the Toronto Raptors in four games in the second round.

In the Eastern Conference Finals, the Cavaliers faced off against the Boston Celtics. The series went seven games, but Cleveland came out on top and advanced to the NBA Finals.

In the Finals, the Cavaliers met the Warriors for the fourth straight year. The Warriors won the first two games of the series, but Cleveland bounced back and won Game 3. However, Golden State won Game 4 and took a 3-1 lead in the series. The Warriors then closed out the series with a victory in Game 5, winning their third title in four years.

The Finals

The Finals was the championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA)’s 2016–17 season and conclusion of the 2017 playoffs. The Eastern Conference champion (and defending NBA champion) Cleveland Cavaliers faced the Western Conference champion Golden State Warriors in a rematch of the 2015 Finals. Cleveland won the series 4–3, becoming the first team to win an NBA Finals after being down 3–1. It was also only the third time in NBA history that a team has come back from a 3–1 deficit to win a series, after the 1969 NBA Finals and 1977 NBA Finals. This was Golden State’s fourth consecutive appearance in the NBA Finals, while it was Cleveland’s third consecutive appearance and seventh overall appearance in franchise history.[1]

Both teams met again in the 2017 NBA Finals, where Golden State avenged their loss by defeating Cleveland 4-1, thus winning their second title in three years.

Who Won?

The Golden State Warriors won the 2017-2018 NBA Championship by defeating the Cleveland Cavaliers 4-0 in the Finals. The Warriors were led by Finals MVP Kevin Durant, who averaged a triple double of 28.8 points, 10.8 rebounds, and 7.5 assists per game.

Similar Posts