Who Won The Baseball World Series 2019?

The 2019 World Series was won by the Washington Nationals. They defeated the Houston Astros in seven games.

Who Won The Baseball World Series 2019?

Who Won?

The 2019 World Series was the championship series of Major League Baseball’s (MLB) 2019 season. The 115th edition of the World Series, it was played between the American League (AL) champion Houston Astros and the National League (NL) champion Washington Nationals. The Nationals won the series, 4–3, defeating the Astros in seven games. It was the first time a best-of-seven World Series went to a Game 7 since 2011, and only the second time since 2002.

When Was The Last Time They Won?

The last time the Washington Nationals won the World Series was in 2019.

How Did They Win?

The Washington Nationals won the 2019 World Series, their first championship in franchise history. They defeated the Houston Astros in seven games, winning Game 7 by a score of 6–2. Stephen Strasburg was named World Series MVP, becoming the first pitcher to earn that honor while also having been named MVP of the NLCS.

How did they win?
Pitching: The Nationals had one of the best pitching staffs in baseball this season, and it showed in the World Series. In seven games, Washington pitchers allowed just 17 runs (2.43 ERA), with starters averaging over six innings per game. The Nats also set a postseason record with 27 consecutive scoreless innings from their starters, a streak that began in Game 2 of the NLDS and ended in Game 5 of the World Series.

Hitting: While the Nationals’ pitching was excellent in the World Series, their hitting was even better. Washington hitters batted .276/.382/.473 as a team, slugging nine homers while scoring 36 runs (5.14 per game). Howie Kendrick was particularly lethal, batting .333/.407/.619 with two homers and eight RBIs.

Similar Posts