Canada’s NHL Teams: A Comprehensive Guide

Looking to learn more about Canada’s NHL teams? This Comprehensive Guide covers everything you need to know, from the history of each team to their current standings.


With seven Canadian teams in the NHL, hockey fans in Canada have a lot to cheer for! From the traditional Original Six teams to the more recent expansion franchises, there is something for everyone. In this guide, we will take a look at each of the Canadian teams their history, and their chances for success in the upcoming season

The Canadian teams

There are seven Canadian teams in the National Hockey League (NHL). They are the Montreal Canadiens Ottawa Senators, Toronto Maple Leafs Winnipeg Jets Calgary Flames Edmonton Oilers and Vancouver Canucks Of these teams, the Canadiens and Maple Leafs are the oldest, both having been founded in 1909.

The Canadian teams have a long and storied history in the NHL, with the Canadiens winning the most Stanley Cups of any team (24). The Maple Leafs have won 13 Stanley Cups which is second only to the Canadiens. The Edmonton Oilers have also been successful, winning five Stanley Cups in seven years between 1984 and 1990.

Despite their success, Canadian teams have not fared well in recent years None of them have won a Stanley Cup since 1993, when the Montreal Canadiens were victorious. In fact, no Canadian team has even made it to the Finals since then. This drought has led to much speculation about why Canadian teams have been struggling.

There are a number of theories: perhaps Canadian teams are not spending enough money on players; maybe they lack the scouting infrastructure needed to identify talent; or it could be that they simply don’t have as much Good luck as they used to. Whatever the reason may be, it’s clear that Canadian teams need to make some changes if they want to start winning again.

The American teams

Most of Canada’s NHL Teams are located in Canadian cities, with a few located in the United States These American teams are the Anaheim Ducks Arizona Coyotes, Carolina Hurricanes Columbus Blue Jackets Dallas Stars Detroit Red Wings Florida Panthers Nashville Predators and the Tampa Bay Lightning

The Canadian division

The Canadian division is a professional Ice Hockey division of the National Hockey League (NHL). The division was formed in 1926 as the Canadian Division of the NHL, and became the Western Canada Hockey League (WCHL) after the first season. It was renamed the West Division in 1974 when the NHL realigned its divisions, and became the Northeast Division in 1993 when it was again realigned. The division was dissolved in 1998 when the NHL realigned into an Eastern and Western Conference but was reformed in 2021 as part of the NHL’s mass expansion.

The Canadian division is made up of seven teams:
-The Calgary Flames
-The Edmonton Oilers
-The Montreal Canadiens
-The Ottawa Senators
-The Toronto Maple Leafs
-The Vancouver Canucks
-And the Winnipeg Jets

The American division

The American division is made up of the following teams:
-Boston Bruins
-Buffalo Sabres
--Detroit Red Wings
-Florida Panthers
-Montreal Canadiens
-New Jersey Devils
-New York Islanders
-New York Rangers
-Ottawa Senators
--Tampa Bay Lightning
-Toronto Maple Leafs

The Stanley Cup

The Stanley Cup is a trophy awarded annually to the National Hockey League’s (NHL) playoff champion. It is the oldest existing trophy to be awarded to a professional sports franchise, and the International Ice hockey Federation (IIHF) considers it to be one of the “most important championships available to the sport”. The trophy was commissioned in 1892 as the Dominion Hockey Challenge Cup and is named after Lord Stanley of Preston, the Governor General of Canada who donated it as an award to Canada’s top-ranking amateur ice hockey club. The entire Stanley family supported the sport, including Sir Ernest Crosby, who was appointed by Sir John A. Macdonald to photograph Lord Stanley with the new trophy. The first Cup was awarded in 1893 to Montreal HC; it had been won eight times previously by Canadian clubs that competed in inter-league play prior to 1893. Professional teams first became eligible to challenge for the Stanley Cup in 1906.

The NHL traces its origins directly to two predecessor leagues, both founded in 1911: the National Hockey Association (NHA), founded by Ambrose O’Brien, and the Pacific Coast Hockey Association (PCHA), founded by Frank and Lester Patrick. The Patrick dynasty began with professional play in Quebec in 1912 with teams in Vancouver and Victoria joining Seattle and Portland two years later. After a series of mergers and folds, including the Brendans Shanahan-led Ottawa Senators joining forces with five other teams in 2000, thirty franchises currently make up the NHL.

Comprehensive List of NHL teams
Anaheim Ducks
Arizona Coyotes
Boston Bruins
Buffalo Sabres
Calgary Flames
Carolina Hurricanes
Chicago Blackhawks
Colorado Avalanche
Columbus Blue Jackets
Dallas Stars
Detroit Red Wings
Edmonton Oilers
Florida Panthers
Los Angeles Kings
Minnesota Wild Montreal Canadiens Nashville Predators New Jersey Devils New York Islanders New York Rangers Ottawa Senators Philadelphia Flyers Pittsburgh Penguins San Jose Sharks St Louis Blues Tampa Bay Lightning Toronto Maple Leafs Vancouver Canucks Vegas Golden Knights Winnipeg Jets

The history of the NHL

The National Hockey League (NHL) is a professional ice Hockey League composed of 30 member clubs: 23 in the United States and 7 in Canada. Founded in 1917 as the successor to the National Hockey Association (NHA), the NHL is considered to be the premier professional ice Hockey League in the world, and one of the North American major professional sports leagues. The Stanley Cup the oldest professional sports trophy in North America is awarded annually to the league playoff champion at the end of each season.

The future of the NHL

The future of the NHL looks bright with the recent addition of the Vegas Golden Knights The league is now composed of 31 teams, which is the largest it has ever been. With the recent success of expansion teams it is likely that we will see more teams added in the future. This could mean that we see new teams in markets that are currently unserved, or that we see additional teams in markets that already have an NHL team


1. How many NHL teams are there in Canada?
There are seven NHL teams in Canada.
2. What are the names of the Canadian NHL teams?
The names of the Canadian NHL teams are the Vancouver Canucks, Edmonton Oilers Calgary Flames Winnipeg Jets, Ottawa Senators, Montreal Canadiens, and the Toronto Maple Leafs
3. Which Canadian NHL team is the most successful?
The most successful Canadian NHL team is the Montreal Canadiens. They have won 25 Stanley Cups which is more than any other team in the NHL.
4. What is the most recent Stanley Cup winner from Canada?
The most recent Stanley Cup winner from Canada is the Montreal Canadiens, who won in 2016.


After looking at the pros and cons of each Canadian NHL Team it’s clear that there is no clear-cut ‘best’ team. Each team has its own unique strengths and weaknesses, and it ultimately comes down to personal preference as to which is the best.

What is important is that all of these teams are great representatives of Canada and its hockey history. They each have their own passionate fan bases, and they all contribute to making the NHL the great league that it is today.

Similar Posts